Five more counties sign up for E-Verify

Article author: 
OFIR staff
Article publisher: 
Article date: 
Monday, January 9, 2012
Article category: 
Oregon Issues
Article Body: 

Five more Oregon counties have signed up for the federal E-Verify program just  in the last quarter:

Lake, Clatsop, Coos, Crook and Yamhill have all signed up!

5 Oregon counties now pass all new hires through the FREE E-Verify ;employment verification program. Over 2,200 companies and government agencies in Oregon use E-Verify already.  One of OFIR's goals is to have all counties signed up for the FREE program to ensure any newly created government jobs go only to US citizens and legal workers.

E-Verify is a voluntary, free, internet based application that allows companies to verify the work eligibility of new hires. Over 98% of new hires are verified within 5 to 10 seconds.

With 200,000 Oregonians out of work and 121,000 illegal aliens working in the state it is unconscionable that American citizens have to compete for new jobs against illegal aliens.

We encourage you to look at the list of current Oregon counties using E-Verify.  If your county is not on the list please call your county commissioners and ask them to join the 15 counties using E-Verify.

Marion County - 06-Feb-2007

Harney County - 27-Feb-2009

LINCOLN COUNTY - 17-Apr-2009

Deschutes County - 27-Oct-2009

Multnomah County - 29-Oct-2009

Tillamook County - 19-Feb-2010

Polk County - 11-Mar-2010

Jefferson County - 21-Oct-2010

Washington County - 01-Mar-2011

Lane County - 15-Jun-2011

Lake County - 27-Oct-2011

Clatsop County - 28-Oct-2011

Coos County - 03-Nov-2011

Crook County - 19-Dec-2011

Yamhill County - 22-Dec-2011


USCIS, Verification Division