Some candidates state their positions clearly

October 21, 2014
The questionnaire of the Oregon Abigail Adams Voter Education Project for this year’s general election is a rich resource for learning what candidates think about important public issues, including immigration.
Listed here are the people who replied to the OAAVEP questions on immigration for 3 groups of candidates: Congressional, Oregon Legislature, and county commissioners.  Questions were different for each group.
All who replied to the OAAVEP questionnaire are persons who’ve thought about public issues and are willing to say what their views are.  Politicians are often accused of vagueness and speaking only in generalities, but those who answered the OAAVEP questionnaire are stating specific opinions for voters to consider.
OAAVEP questions for Congressional candidates:
19.  Do you support requiring all employers to verify employee eligibility to work in the United States?    
20.  Do you support securing the borders before any form of amnesty is legalized?    
21.  Do you support spending public funds to benefit illegal immigrants?    
22.  Do you support automatic citizenship to children born in the U.S. when both parents are not legal residents? 
The only major party candidates who answered these questions are all Republicans: Jason Yates, CD 1; James Buchal, CD 3; Art Robinson, CD 4; Tootie Smith, CD 5.
OAAVEP questions for Oregon Legislative candidates:
15.  Do you support AUTOMATICALLY registering people to vote using DMV data?
17.  Do you support requiring proof of eligibility when registering to vote?    
32.  Do you support mandating all Oregon employers to use the federal E-Verify system to determine the employee's work eligibility status? 
Major party candidates for Oregon Legislature who answered these questions are listed below.  Many of those replying gave answers supporting E-Verify and voter restrictions, but some opposed or added qualifications to their answers.  All are Republicans except those with an asterisk before the name.  
State Senate candidates:  Kim Thatcher, S13; John Verbeek, S17.
State House candidates:  
*Jim Klahr, H1; Duane Stark, H4; Sal Esquivel, H6; Casey Runyon, H9;
Laura Cooper, H13; Mike Nearman, H23; Bill Post, H25; 
Larry Ericksen, H31; Rick Rose, H32; Brenden King, H34; *Gerritt Rosenthal, H37; 
Tim McMenamin, H41; Michael Harrington, H44; George Yellott, H48; Bill Beckers, H49; 
Gene Whisnant, H53; *Richard Phay, H55; Gail Whitsett, H56; Greg  Baretto, H58; 
John Huffman, H59; *Peter Hall, H60.
Candidates for local county offices (Commissioners and Clerks)  also had the opportunity to complete the OAAVEP questionnaire, and several did.  These local offices are nonpartisan in some counties and partisan in others.  Here are the questions on immigration in the questionnaire for local offices:
  9.  Do you support AUTOMATICALLY registering people to vote using DMV data?
10.  Do you support requiring proof of eligibility and identity when registering to vote?
27.  Do you support mandating all Oregon employers to retroactively use the federal E-verify system to determine the employee’s work eligibility status?
Columbia County – Wayne Mayo
Coos County – Don Gurney
Crook County – Walt Wagner
Deschutes County – Jack Stilwell
Douglas County – Jeff Admire, Gary Leif
Jackson County – all 4 candidates for Position 1, and the 2 candidates for Position 3.
Jefferson County – Mae Huston
Yamhill County – Mary Starrett
To see replies to the OAAVEP questions, please visit