House Leadership kills SB 4052

Alert date: 
Saturday, February 11, 2012
Alert body: 
Despite the failure to advance HB 4052, people in legislature are aware of the fact that the vast majority of citizens want the State of Oregon to hire only people who are legally able to work in the U.S. Citizens who expect common sense bills to be passed by their legislators flooded the capitol with phone calls, emails and visitors requesting a hearing for HB 4052.
Because there is an even split between Republicans and Democrats in the House, they have two co-speakers, one Democrat, (Arnie Roblan) and one Republican, (Bruce Hanna). If either of the two co-chairs objects to a bill it will die.
Rep. Roblan is opposed to E-Verify and HB 4052 did not advance in the 2012 session.
However, the two co-speakers refer bills to committees. In the case of HB 4052 it was referred to the Judiciary Committee which also has two co-chairs.
Both of the Judiciary Co-Chairs - Rep. Jeff Barker (D) and Rep. Wayne Krieger (R), are in favor of HB 4052. Barker was even a co-signer of the bill.
However they don't have the final call on whether a bill will get a hearing. The leadership of both parties must agree on a bill in order for it to be scheduled for a hearing. The leadership of the Democrat Party is opposed to HB 4052 and it died in this session.

The House Leadership made the call not to give HB 4052 a Hearing. Although Co-Speaker Arnie Roblan told inquirers that the decision was up to the two Co-Chairs of the Judiciary Committee, that is not credible because we know Co-Chair Wayne Krieger (R-Gold Beach) supported the bill, and the other Co-Chair, Jeff Barker (D-Aloha) actually was a sponsor of the bill. The Leadership of the House, as shown at of the following people. Of those listed we believe Co-Speaker Pro Tempore Rep. Andy Olson was in favor of the bill, but the other persons listed, so far as we know, have not given a clear-cut statement of their positions, except for Roblan who did make his opposition known.


House of Representatives Leadership:
Co-Speaker of the House Bruce Hanna - (R-Roseburg)
Co-Speaker of the House Arnie Roblan - (D-Coos Bay)

Co-Speaker Pro Tempore Representative Peter Buckley - (D-Ashland)
Co-Speaker Pro Tempore Representative Andy Olson - (R-Albany)

House Republican Leader Representative Kevin Cameron - (R-Salem)
House Democratic Leader Representative Tina Kotek- (D-N/NE Portland)

House Democratic Caucus | House Republican Caucus